Hello , Just got a new old motorbike.

Square Circle

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
... I've been way too excited about getting my first street bike. I just sold an old car, got a few bucks and picked up a rough running 79.. its petcocks need rebuilt , gas tank is rusty, and carbs " were" dirty.
I have to say this forum and some of the online shops catering to the xs650 has played a big part in my choice of motorcyle. Thanks to all who help put this site in gear and for all who help out!!. I am a carpenter and home remodeler.. not a mechanic ... more of a " parts changer " when it comes to machines.
So far the tech section of this forum (specificly the carburetor) has been very helpful in the rebuild of my bs38s... compared to modern fuel delivery systems, carbs are suppossed to be simple, but to me going into the rebuild was a little scary... After printing out the how to and spec sheets put together by "5 Twins", I now feel like i've made some great accomplishment by understanding how the" gas maker" works and actually doing the work myself .. I think i might have just as much fun in rebuilding this thing as in riding it... Can't wait to get it on the road.. :D

Attachments

• SAM_0185.jpg
    SAM_0185.jpg
    129.8 KB · Views: 89
  • SAM_0181.jpg
    SAM_0181.jpg
    204.1 KB · Views: 96
  • SAM_0182.jpg
    SAM_0182.jpg
    176 KB · Views: 107
Welcome to the site Square Circle. Another miseryian 2.
I think you may be the 6th or 7th guy from St Louis or close.
The carbs look like you did good work.
Even got the right choke plate in the right place.:thumbsup: :D

Welcome to the site Square Circle. Another miseryian 2.
I think you may be the 6th or 7th guy from St Louis or close.
The carbs look like you did good work.
Even got the right choke plate in the right place.:thumbsup: :D