Help im new to the 650! (forks, year)

skervey35

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
Hey guys Iv been lurking around for a little while looking and learning. Iv got the 650's little brother a 77 XS400. Iv rebuilt it from a pile of junk to a runner and im finishing it up now. I also have a 73 SL350 it sat for 9 years but its running well and not far from being road worthy again. lastly I got a 73 RD350 it had sat for 20 years in a damp basement so the top-end was froze but now its apart and waiting on its turn to be rebuilt.

So the story starts out with the 73 Honda SL350 oddly enough. I got it for cheap with a title and then freshened it up. Pulled motor and sandblasted and repainted the frame and everything else on the bike (except the tank and headlight) I was going to resell the bike so I thought I would leave that to the next owner as far as the tank color and over all style. But I found a grate guy who works on tirumps 50-60's stuff. Talking with him he told me he had a 72-73 XS650 sitting in the back that he wanted to let go since he had little interested in a jap bike for himself. The bike is a runner and tittle but ugly! Witch works in my favor for price! Its been setting since the 90's but has little to no rust. Someone must have thought they wanted a chopper so they through on a longer set of forks and a sissy bar. But the bike did have some had bags witch is a plus since I want to tour with the bike if I do get my hands on it. (im sending him pic of my SL350 as a trade)

So here is where I want to get some input!

1. What is going on with the forks?? are they stock, after market, or some crazy swap job?

2. Is the fork rake stock? (does it look like anyone has added some rake for the chopper look, to me it looks stock and the welds on the head tube look like they are from Yamaha)

3. What year? 71-72-73