Is my cam chain worn out? Timing and point gaps

Metal

XS650 Custom shop
Reaction score
Hi y'all.
So last night I set my cam chain tension and it did need adjustment. I then adjusted my valves and then I went to do my point gaps.

When I went to set up my points I couldn't get the points to open in side the marks either side of the F. They are new points. I went to set the gap between .012" and .016" but with that gap the points wouldn't open until way past TDC. So in the hope to get the bike to even run I turned the crank to the fire position and set the gap to crack open at the right time disregarding what the gap should be at the full open position. I have no more adjustment left in my points plate making it impossible to adjust the timing.

This is my first time setting points and I have a PMA I just installed. I transferred the timing marks from the old rotor. But I feel like things are just not lining up. My only thought is the cam chain has stretched or skipped a tooth.

I could use some advice.

Attachments

• IMG_20130624_220751.jpg
    IMG_20130624_220751.jpg
    191.3 KB · Views: 229
  • IMG_20130624_220817.jpg
    IMG_20130624_220817.jpg
    223.4 KB · Views: 279
Beware that The PMA rotor Can slip on The crank and that would put The TDC Way off! Mine did that.. You need to make sure your piston is at its highest when The rotor is at TDC..

Thanks for the heads up but this is a new install and is yet to run so I know this is not my problem. But I will be sure to keep an eye out for this happening in the future.