Little Slip's first custom build - from UK

littleslip

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Little Slip's street custom build - Slippery #1 - UK

Well I thought I'd better put one of these together to track my progress. Feel free to comment and help out if you think I need it.

Bit of background:

From the UK, I'm 27. worked for Jaguar cars for 6 years. Thats Jag-u-ar not JAGWAR as you guys pronounce! :laugh:
But I'm actually a Personal fitness trainer and nutritionist now.

Normally race superbikes, competing in the Max Grand Prix this year and hopefully the TT next year.

Had a bit of a crash a couple of months ago which ruled out riding, so I sought and bought an XS650 for a custom build to keep the bike bug happy.

Going for a street tracker look, something thats good around town but comfy enough to go out for the day on with the missus on the back.

Plans:
custom subframe, battery box etc
19" wheels front and back - spoked with discs.
Different swingarm
2 into 1 exhaust system
Paint undecided
Pamco and PMA
Maybe R6 forks, or mabe USD forks if I can find them cheap enough
Engine is getting pretty much left alone as the lad had just had it rebuilt. Just a clean up really

Let's get the pics started

What I'm starting with:

3758efe7-cefd-4112-802a-08a3984f74fa_zpsf7353c4f.jpg

Last edited:
Hi littleslip

Good to have another UK member on! Looks like you have a good starting point there. I like your idea around the USDs - i am going to be starting another build this Autumn which will be a Cafe racer with a modern twist and that will have USDs. Interestingly, there is a thread today on GSXR forks being used.

After a few days of progress:

Frame pretty much delugged and electrics removed. Passenger footrest hangers removed and centre stand brackets. Cant believe how much weight came off the frame! 650's been on a diet!
Subframe cut down. Just waiting for a few tools so I can get the tank rubbed down.

The delugging took way longer than I thought it would.