Media blasting protocol?

avenue

push.
Reaction score
What's the protocol on preparing an engine for media blasting?

My engine is torn down, sitting on the bench, everything is out except the trans shifter, and a few starter gear shafts. It's awaiting a light rebuild and I want to remove the crappy, worn out black paint before going back together.

I'd like to blast the whole thing but I'm new to this and worry about gasket surfaces and important parts being compromised.

thanks for your help and time,
avenue.

Depends on the media used. If you use sodium bicarbonate, (baking soda) it will have virtually no issues, but will take longer than silica sand. Silica sand on the other hand, is about as aggressive of a media as you will find, and will most likely leave a texture after blasting. Generally speaking, tear it COMPLETELY down. That way you are POSITIVE nothing will cause unwanted results. If you are going for an overall "clean up" and want to polish the (motor) side covers, I would use glass beads for all of it. Bead blasting works well, is reasonably quick and the differences, (if any) in the mating surfaces will be taken care of by your new gaskets.

the baking soda blasting is awesome on aluminum, and the easy cleanup is worth it.

thanks for replies.

however, I was not asking what type of media to shoot but rather, what do I need to do in order to prepare gasket surfaces, bearing races, and other critical machined areas of the case and top end before I start blasting? or, do I simply stay away from these areas while in the booth?

and, thank you tadd

avenue.

I suggested soda blasting because it won't damage the gasket surfaces, so you don't have to worry about this as part of your preparation. Sorry I didn't specify my reasoning for suggesting it. Hope this helps.