Mono-shocked Cafe racer from Ireland

nicmcs

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi guys,
I've been a long time lurker on this website but have now decided to start my own build thread, as I am using it as part of a final year in college where i'm doing a degree in mechanical engineering.

The end goal is to build a mono-shocked cafe racer with a rephased 750cc conversion.

The frame mods and mono-shock conversion are to be done first then the engine will be built.

The bike itself is a 79 special apparently, also an american import and hasnt been taxed or on the road in ireland in nearly 20 years.
I bought the bike about 18months ago for 300 euro, and was well and truly f*cked as the photos show.
the engine was in pieces and has a decent hole in one piston. the engine was all over the floor of of the PO's workshop/ garden shed and covered in pigeon shit.
[/URL][/IMG]
The bike on the trip home.

[/URL][/IMG]
Box of parts.

IMG_0288.jpg

Tear down in progress.

Attachments

• IMG_0286.jpg
    IMG_0286.jpg
    72.8 KB · Views: 2
  • IMG_0283.jpg
    IMG_0283.jpg
    73.2 KB · Views: 3
Last edited:
I've had the frame bead blasted and put in storage up until now.
IMG_0813.jpg

The engine being thrown back together for storage..
[/URL][/IMG]

This is the swing arm I'm planning on using, it's from a 2002 kawasaki zrx 1200 i believe..
[/URL][/IMG]

And this is the shock and linkage set up i've started to design around..
[/URL][/IMG]

Attachments

• IMG_1762.jpg
    IMG_1762.jpg
    163.8 KB · Views: 3
  • IMG_1374.jpg
    IMG_1374.jpg
    81 KB · Views: 6
  • IMG_0319.jpg
    IMG_0319.jpg
    85.1 KB · Views: 2
Hi nic,
300 Euro is mebbe $400 which ain't too bad of a deal for what the photos show.
Check the frame and engine serial numbers though.
The frame looks about right for a '79 but the forked-outlet crankcase vent and the lack of an oil-level sightglass in the clutch casting say the engine is earlier.