Need Help

Dozuki

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I am not a mechanic so I sent all my parts and pieces off to a mechanic for reassembly. Well I got the old boy back the other day, a 1975 xs650B star black, I just got a chance to take it for a little shake down ride today and i thought i was going to die.
1. Fuel runs out of the carb if the bike isn't running. I mean it just pours out.
2. When I get it started and try to put it in gear it dies and if the rpms drop it dies.
3. Once I do get it going it dies when i try to downshift, see above.
4. I know it has brakes because i can see them but they don't seem to do anything when I apply them.
5. There is an opening in the engine case that i am sure should have something in it.

I will gladly say that I am no mechanic so I am hoping that these are things that I hope won't take to much skill. Or at least not having to pull the engine at least not yet. I do have a manual and will start digging into it tonight. So any and all ideas are welcome. And if you are in the D.C. area i will trade beer for knowledge.
I will try to post a few pics when i figure out how.

5. Is the opening about the size of a silver dollar? On the left side(sitting on the bike) engine cover? If so it is the clutch adjuster cap missing.
4. The rear brake is pretty straight forward. You press the pedal down linkage pulls the cam arm forward. There is a threaded nut on the back of the linkage you use to tighten the pedal. Look at the rear of the rear wheel and you should see what is happening when you press the brake pedal. Adjust till you have about an inch of pedal travel.

3,2 and 1 could all be carb problems. Normally you would adjust timing then move to the carbs BUT with fuel pouring out maybe we should address the carbs first and then start at square 1. Can you identify where the gas loss is coming from?