New engine starts, revs high but wont keep running

russa

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm new to XS650's most of my bikes are single Brits, so I'm a bit lost at what I might have done wrong, or do next, so looking for some tips, things I can try before I pull the motor back out.. it was running when it holed a piston about 20 years ago so should go again..!.

I have rebuilt a XS1B from bottom to top, new bearings throughout, new rods, pistons, seals etc, and referencing great material on this site. And it starts but it wont keep running.

I have static timed the points, Auto advance does stick a little rubbing on the inside of the cover, but would that stop the motor? I have cleaned the carbs 3 times now, the last with 2 pairs of glasses and found some extra small holes to clean.

The bike now starts (without the use of Aerostart) but just revs for a few seconds, when I release the choke its like I'm turning off the ignition, it just wont go despite the throttle twisting. If I re-apply the choke it might keep going but wants to rev like hell again...

I'm pretty confident (although that is slipping a bit now) that I have the cam timing right, I have static gapped and timed the points and they are close enough not to stop it running, I have added 2 new condensers.

I think my next move is to give the valves some more clearance but I did follow instructions as per Yamaha Shop guru on Youtube?? Was that a mistake?

Anyway, any suggestions very welcome, I have rebuilt for a mate and I'd rather give t back to him running. :doh:

thanks,
Russell
Sunny Melbourne
Oz.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum, russel. '71 XS1B? Could be that it's just cold-natured.

Fire it up with the enrichener (choke) on, leave it on for at least 30 seconds. The engine should rev higher during this, but start rich-stumbling when it warms up. If it revs way too high, without that rich-stumbling, it could be too lean, like from an air leak., or fuel delivery problem.