New kid on the block

ineedabeer21

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi so I'm new to xs650's and motorcycles period. Ive spent most of my time on VW's. Im 21 and in the USAF stationed in NJ. I just recently bought a 78 yamaha xs650d and it needs a little work. Its smoking a little and I think it might need new piston rings?? Clutch handle is stiff, forks are soft, needs new tires and sputters when i get on it. I believe that to be the fuel filter. I have some plans for a build that I will hopefully have ready by the spring. I've been doing some research and want to put on a magnetic charging system and PAMCO ignition system. Also do a gauge delete and add a mini speedo with some clip on bars. Electric start delete and Do a bare metal rusted tank and no fenders. Get a cafe style seat and gsxr forks and Kenda K761 tires. Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Attachments

• 2015010495170606.jpg
    2015010495170606.jpg
    139 KB · Views: 262
  • 2015010495170641.jpg
    2015010495170641.jpg
    161.7 KB · Views: 243
Hi and welcome to a little bit of XS heaven!

Wait before you mod(he said, working on his brat he has never ridden before!!), ride her for a while stock and see how it goes from there.

I'm going to go on a whim and say, clean your carbs from top to bottom, this will probably solve a lot of your troubles! There is a how to somewhere, maybe in the tech section, have a look.

Clutch cable and worm gear probably need a bit of grease to loosen them up. Dump the tires and get some fresh rubber on there. Also check the tank for dirt and rust, and clean it up. Yes you will probably need a new fuel filter. Forks probably need new oil in them.

Best thing to invest in is some manuals, the more the better, then read em like a book from front to back! THEN come back here, do loads of searches, and then ask away! We love to help if you have done a little homework!