New rider, owner, & forum member! My bike & plan inside

XSFazz

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hey guys!

My name is Mark, I am new to bikes after being in the car game for a while (and still). My girlfriend has a 1976 Honda CB360T that we transformed into a beautiful cafe racer and she has been begging me to be her riding partner for a while and get my own project. After a good bit of searching and trying to find the right bike for my introduction into the wonderful world of motorcycle riding, I was steered towards the Yamaha XS650 model as it is incredibly easy to work on and fairly light for a 650.

I became familiar with the different trim levels and decided I wanted a Special model, so I found a 1978 XS650 Special with 11k miles about an hour from me. Here's what it looks like after bringing it home.

photo1_zps2e1198f9.jpg

photo2_zps6a83a160.jpg

I am putting the superbike bars back on and new grips for starters. I don't like the bars that are on it now.. too "cruiser." The bike is exceptionally clean and already has the PAMCO ignition from Mike's XS.

I am planning a cafe build on this but not chopping or cutting anything. I want a cafe seat, an aftermarket tail light / turn signals set up and removal of the pull bar.

I am going for a modern look, with new tech on an old bike. Really excited to start learning about these bikes and happy to be a member of this great XS650 forum.

Cheers!

Mark

Thanks guys!

I am not in a rush to go all out cafe yet, I definitely want to ride and enjoy it for the time being. I am, however, going to immediately swap the handlebars out for the superbike bars (which came with the bike too) and I am looking for a cafe seat but Mike's XS only has seats for 1980 Specials and this is a 78.