Not sure which pamco to buy.. Need help

Mikes80

XS650 Member
Reaction score
So I have been building a 1980 XS650 for the last 2 years. Every time I think I am close to being finished something breaks or goes wrong. I just finished rebuilding my motor and put the motor back in the frame hooked up all my electrical and tried to kick it over but I am not getting any spark.. I have run a few checks and it seems that my tci box might be bad. My question is I want to put a new Pamco ignition in my bike but I am not sure if I need the basic system or the ultimate system.. The only difference between the two seem to be the advance rod that comes with the ultimate.. Can somebody please let me know if the advance rod is something i will need? Or can I just get the basic system. The extra $50 is not going to break the bank I just need to know if I need it or not.. Thanks

The only complete system sold is the Powerdynamo. It'd be IMO the best route for you. Pricing it all up front and is in at the end of it all in the same ball park. Plus, You won't need to get this rod, that needs replacing because it was installed wrong without instructions, reg/rec plug doesn't match that, etc crap.

Purchase it bolt it on, set the timing and go.

Attachments

• powerdynamo.jpg
    powerdynamo.jpg
    244.6 KB · Views: 344
Thanks for the info Chizler62.. Where did you purchase yours from? Is there somewhere in the US that sells that system ? Or do I need to order it from Europe? Do you have a link?

I think they're ebay'd by someone. I know Cycles-R-us in Ohio is a dealer. Tho, I know my customers are just ordering off their webpage with pricing about $540us plus a 5% discount and shipping. I've only dealt directly with them.

There are two flywheel choices. Check the webpage for which works better for your situation.

In the long run its a solid option.