Pamco ignition problems

mikeyBskunk

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I purchased the (14-0901) pamco kit off mikes xs a little wile back and i cannot get it fo fire correctly. I have gone threw the bike settings, (camchain-valves) and i cannot get the timing even close. I have ran a timing light a few times on bolth plug wires and the light is erratic, jumping all over the place. When i would adjust the plate nothing would change. I even turned the plate wile the bike was ideling and still no effect. I also used a spark plug sight glass and the left side (pamco side of engine) is misfireing like crazy. The coils are good, im just thinking it is the pamco itself. What should i do??

Thanks,
Mike

Posted via Mobile

by no means i'm an expert, but your kit came with 1 coil but you typed in "coils" so how many do u have? the pamco works on a wasted spark so that might throu u off becouse if 1 is good the other should be there 2, did u look at your advance unit?is it loobed well springs firm?it sounds more like a carb problem

That or your advance mechanization is all goofed up. Once I had the locating pin fall out and for some reason the bike ran, but very erratic.

mikey,

There have been a few problems similar to yours lately that turned out to be an erratic output from the PMA, so I would suggest that you try wiring the PAMCO directly to an independent battery, just sitting on the floor and see what happens. If you have a PMA setup with battery, then just try disconnecting the regulator or otherwise disabling the PMA and just run on the battery.

k thanks pete, i appreciate the quick responce, i will try this first thing in the morning

Posted via Mobile

pete,
I tried what you suggested with power just going to the Pamco and the bike would not start. it only has spark when the PMA is hooked up

Posted via Mobile

mikey...,