Recommendations

99orton

Oregon XS650
Reaction score
I have a 1980 Special I picked up cheap enough but it has no compression in 1 cylinder. It is a really clean bike so I can't decide on fixing it or parting it out. I'm not very experienced with engine internals so I am leary of trying to repair it. How tough is it to tear into one of these motors?
007.jpg

I don't think they're hard to work on at all. Most need to come apart anyway for cam chain and front guide. That one's in nice enough shape that I would fix it. Is the one in the background yours as well?

Whenever I look at a motorcycle I see a really cool, great big 3D puzzle. I love puzzles. If you don't it can be a PITA & you're likely to quit it losing good hard earned $. There are those that will do a complete rebuild for ya & ya can go & enjoy the sounds of the atmosphere at your leisure.
No BS.
Think clearly about..YOU...
You'll need tools.
Not very hard but, also, not very easy. If it were everyone would be able to do it--not everyone can draw a straight line even with a straight edge.

Last edited:
I don't think they're hard to work on at all. Most need to come apart anyway for cam chain and front guide. That one's in nice enough shape that I would fix it. Is the one in the background yours as well?

I do have mechanical ability, just never got into motors really. the black one is nice. I picked them both up at the same time. The green one is on the local C/L now.

006-1.jpg

A vale stuck open would be the first thimng to check. Pull the valve adjuster covers, watch the valves work as you turn the engine over. Do they all seem to work ok, as in move all the way down and back up?
If they all lokk godlook in through the sparkplug hole on the no compression side with the piston near to a TDC. You may find a holed piston.
Nothing to hard to fix.
Leo