Rectifier

gapper

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello
i am New to the wonderful world of the XS650!
so i just bought this bike and have been going over everything slowly. it seesm to run fine, changed oil and filters, checked Valve"s adjusted can tension. New Battery,

so i noticed it was not starting very well, like battery i low, hmm well only short trips, 7 or 8 blocks to work and back. so i take it out on the Hwy about a 3/4 hr ride.

then this morning ..click, click.. so thro charger on and wham away it goes...

oh oh thinking charging system is pooched. so i do some tests today after i charge battery. follow as much of curly's guide and also my manual to narrow down problem. brush's are ok, voltage is a little lower then battery at alternator, but whe ni go to check the rectifeir as per the manual, i get no continuity from red to white at all, on all three and from wha ti have read is that it has failed.

so i reconect all and figure that i should be able to see what altnator is putting out if i touch the positive wire on it and ground to frame right? so at idle it is putting out 10.5 volts, and at 3000 rpm it is 11.7-12.0 volts. now with a faulty rectifeir should it be reading higher or is that causing some voltage drop?

i think i have gone about this the correct way.

not sure if my signature has this info so will add it as well

1983 XS650sk 26,000 kms
stock bike,

thanks

Hi,
On your recifier, it is six diodes which are electrical one way valves, they let power flow just one way.
When you test a diode you hook the leads up one way then reverse them. One way will conduct power the other way won't.
I'll post up some references, I hope they come out clear. I scanned them from my factory manual.
One shows the complete wiring for the alternator and the recifier and regulator.
The other shows how the recifier works.
I hope you can read the text.
Leo

Attachments

• Alternator wiring 001 (582x800).jpg
    Alternator wiring 001 (582x800).jpg