Rookie wiring question

bsimmons

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
So I'm going to be wiring soon and I'm just going over my stuff and my headlight and tail lights I bought where from lowbrow. So as I'm looking I notice the the headlight only has 2 wires white and black my question is would the white wire be running light and black be the ground?

And second the taillight is similar but both wires are black and it's a taillight/break light. My question is does that mean that it's self grounded and one wire is break light and the other is the license plate light? Thanks sorry if this seems dumb but I'm new at this

On the headlight, open it up and look inside. If it has both a high and low beam it should have three wires coming off the bulb. One wire for high and low beams and a ground. If this ground wire is hook to the case of the light then it grounds through the mount.
The same applies to the tail/brake light. Most tail/brake lights don't have a separate light for the license plate. They have a clear window so the tail light shines down on the plate.
The only dumb question is the one that doesn't get asked.
Leo

Ok thanks yea the tail light is only one bulb in,it's of wrote it wrong to begin with. But I'll pull the headlight apart and see if its grounded inside as with the taillight thanks

So checked them out the headlight is grounded inside with the white wire so making the black high beam and the white low correct?

And as for the tail light I didn't see it grounded inside like the headlight.

If the white wire grounds to the case then it can't be low beam. Remove the bulb itself and see if it has one or two elements. A lot of headlights are actually driving lights with just a one element bulb. Just one beam, no high/low.
On the tail light, the outside on the bulb base is the ground, this connects to the outside of the socket. The out side of the socket is made as part of the case.