Seat Compatability

Primetime

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey fellow XS'ers...anyone happen to know if the seat pan for a 73 tx500 also fits a 73 tx650? Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.

AFAIK the only seat that will fit a 73 TX650 is the 73 TX650 seat. Believe me Bro I looked for something else that might work.

Hi Primetime and welcome,
if Gary sez it won't fit, betcha it won't fit.
But
Can it be made to fit?
How good a tinker are you? And how desperate?

I certainly appreciate the responses and am getting more out of this forum than researching the internet for sure. I'm new to the bike thing and got roped in because my 19 year old son scored a 75 xs650 in mint shape for way too cheap. Needless to say, it grew on me so I recently picked up a 73 tx/xs650 and need to square a couple things away. My dilemma is that I'm not very knowledgeable, experienced or mechanical. I'll hold out for a 73 seat that fits for now because I think that's easiest...ha! The 73 has these long forks (6" longer than my boys 75) so I'm trying to figure out if I need to buy standard forks, replace the tubes with shorter ones or pay to have them cut down, if even possible. If I can get the seat & forks squared away it will look pretty stock, which is what I want. I'll have the kid throw up a picture so you can see the chopper style xs....seems like an odd ball to me???

Extended forks and king queen seats were all the rage in the early 70s I get more early bikes WITH extended forks than stock length.

- - - The 73 has these long forks (6" longer than my boys 75) so I'm trying to figure out if I need to buy standard forks, replace the tubes with shorter ones or pay to have them cut down, if even possible. If I can get the seat & forks squared away it will look pretty stock, which is what I want. I'll have the kid throw up a picture so you can see the chopper style xs....seems like an odd ball to me???

Hi Primetime,