Shaving Wiseco Big Bore Pistons

bighairyralph

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I've got a set of Wiseco big bore pistons but I'm not good with the high compression they give. Can anybody give me some instruction on shaving the tops of the pistons to drop the compression to something reasonable (say, 9.5:1)?

Hey, Ralph. The best way to go about this is to CC the combustion chambers and the piston crowns, figure-in headgasket thickness, and all that racer stuff that uses exotic tools, burettes/pipettes, and such.

Then there's the best-guess estimate system. Warning: Math coming...

Using:
Vc as the compressed chamber volume
Vs as the 'stroked' volume
Vt as the Total Volume
CR as the Compression Ratio

Then:
Vt = Vs + Vc
CR = Vt / Vc

Since your issue is to change compression ratio by shaving the piston, we want to isolate and solve for a change to Vc, since Vs will remain the same, and CR will change
CR = (Vs + Vc) / Vc
CR = (Vs / Vc) + (Vc / Vc)
CR = (Vs / Vc) + 1

Now, isolate Vc:
CR - 1 = Vs / Vc
Vc * (CR - 1) = Vs
Vc = Vs / (CR - 1)

Knowing the Stroked Volume and the initial (advertised) Compression Ratio, we can 'reverse-engineer' the configuration and derive the Compressed Chamber Volume. For example, suppose this is an 80mm piston on a 74mm stroke, and the advertised Compression Ratio is 10.5:1 (which is simply 10.5). Then (computing in CC's):
Vs = π/4 * 80 * 80 * 74 / 1000
Vs = 371.965 cc
Vc = 371.965 / (10.5 - 1)
Vc = 371.965 / 9.5
Vc = 39.154cc

Now, do the same 'solve for Vc' using CR = 9.5
Vc = 371.965 / (9.5 - 1)
Vc = 371.965 / 8.5
Vc = 43.761cc

Find the difference:
43.761 - 39.154 = 4.607cc