Sport/Touring

Royboy

many roads, little time
Reaction score
North Central MN / Gold Canyon AZ (seasonal tramp)
I love my 70's Yamahas. I've also got a 98' Honda Magna if I need it, (and sometimes I do). But I have no experience with the more modern sports/touring bikes and from time to time I wonder what I'm missing. Thinking maybe it would be fun to find a nice GSXR or maybe a V Strom. Am I going to the dark side? It might be fun to see what's been happening with brakes, clutches, suspension, etc. while I've been gone. I've got a little bread to blow, what would you try? :shrug:

roy

Take a look at an FJR1300. I was able to ride one on a 500mi day 2up and we both really liked it alot. They have been largely unchanged throughout the model years, so a nice clean used one would be a good buy. :thumbsup::thumbsup:
The Vstrom 650 or 1000 are both good choices, but the Gixxer is a torture rack for this old guy.

img_zps66305e3f.jpg

have you ridden a GSXR!? the seating is NOT long distance friendly. I suggest honda VFR800, Ducati ST2/3/4, Kawasaki Versys 650/1000

VFR's are also wicked v4 awesome and reliable as all hell.

honda-vfr-800-04.jpg

Suggest you dont ride a Ducati if you never ever wanna get bloody hooked for life!

15026.jpg

I own a Versys 650, makes 65hp and i have toured all over with it, I had to get an aftermarket seat though. But comfy, plenty fast, Givi bags, taller windshield, crash bars, plugs for heated gear and set to ride alllll over. Used Versys are plentiful too and id say = to vstrom. I picked a new one up in 2010 for about 9500CDN with givi hard bags. I was seriously considering Versys 1000, but the 650 is just plenty and i like to ride dirt with it too (put some dirty tires on too) and the 4cyl adds alot of weight.

w1150h625_000003408A23B55B.jpg

Next choice, Ninja 1000. Same motor as Versys 1000, 134hp, bags, fairly comfy. I was close....but the battle for dirt riding won me out.

big_7kawasaki_z1000sx_2011_08.jpg