Start button doesn't work, Kick-start only

bret

'81 Special
Reaction score
A couple years ago my 81 special stopped starting with the start button. Ever since I have just been using the kick starter because I am a broke college kid. I am looking to maybe fix this problem with some Christmas money but I'm no expert and not sure where to start. Should I just get a new starter relay from Mikes?

A common problem is loss of the ground at the handlebars. The starter button needs the handlebars to be grounded, in order to send that ground to the starter relay. You can try connecting a temporary ground to the blue/white wire terminal at the starter relay..................that is the same as pushing the PB. If the engine cranks, then you are missing the handlebar ground.

The 81 year also has a Starter Lockout Relay. You need to have a ground from the neutral switch, or the clutch pulled in, to allow the starter relay to work. If you want to by-pass the Starter Lockout Relay..................find the relay and add a wire from one red/white to the other red/white. With the transmission in neutral, if the engine cranks with the by-pass wire in place, it means the relay is defective or the neutral switch is not providing a ground on the light blue wire to the SLR

Wih the transmission selected to any gear, the clutch switch should send a ground to the SLR on the black/yellow wire, and allow the engine to crank.

Thank you so much for your quick response. I will test these out this week and will hopefully find some time to let you know how it goes.

Thanks again,
Bret

I took the side cover off and got to the blue/white wire but I'm not sure what the starter relay looks like. I took a wire and cut off the edges leaving wire exposed on either side and tested out a bunch of different locations. Nothing worked. I'm stuck.

The Starter Relay is found by following the large black cable from the battery positive post.