Tappet nuts

DB90

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Anyone ever use a standard Grade 8 nut as a replacement?? Is there anything "special" about what the stock tappet lock nuts are made of? Seems to me plain old steel to me.

Grade 8 refers to it's strength. Not just hardness.... but shear and tension also.... elasticity....
Tappet nuts are alloyed and tempered with an emphasis on hardness.
Pretty much apples to oranges.
As to would it work? Possibly. :shrug:
Not sure I'd risk the consequences if it won't.

Right. Grade 8 has a tensile strength of 150,000 ksi. I feel like that may be more than strong enough to withstand the forces it may be under.

I am no expert when it comes to bolts and nuts but grade 8 is standard for structural use.

Perhaps grade 10.9 or whatever it is may be better?

Right. Grade 8 has a tensile strength of 150,000 ksi. I feel like that may be more than strong enough to withstand the forces it may be under.

I am no expert when it comes to bolts and nuts but grade 8 is standard for structural use.

Maybe I'm the wrong guy to answer... my background's in aviation, where substituting parts can lead to a world of shit.
So swapping a reciprocating nut that can wreak havoc on a cylinder head if it fails just goes against my grain.

If the question is do I think a G-8 nut is strong enough and will work, my initial thought is "probably."
My next though is it isn't worth rolling the dice... jus' get the correct nut.

Me thinks it's a potentially very expensive experiment. If you want to begin to research the topic, look for proof load properties of bolt classes. Then it also has to "live with" the valve stem and vice versa.....IDK

OK, I just ran a single cut file across a tappet nut. I expected it to skate off. It didn't... it bit into it pretty good. So they aren't as "hard" as I expected they were.
I'm still not gonna say yes though. I'll stick with my initial "possibly."
Seriously though, why take the chance?