Tools needed for chain replacement

engine22

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I just ordered a new chain because mine has some serious tight spots (i'm guessing from PO letting the bike sit for years). What tools do I need to replace the chain? Can I buy them locally or will I have to order them? This is my first time replacing it, I imagine its pretty straight forward with the right tools.

10 & 12mm for the chain adjusters, needle nose pliers for the cotter pin and outside clip on the master link, 13 or 14mm for the hub stay and brake adjustment nut, 1 1/4 or 1/8 for the axle nut.
Loosen the adjusters all the way back. Remove cotter pin. Loosen hub staybar(I leave the hairpin in so I don't lose it). Back the brake adjuster all the way back. Loosen the axle nut and slide the wheel forward. Now look for the master link and rotate it to a easy access spot on the bottom. Remove the clip and outside of the master link. Drop the back half the chain and put the new chain on the master link pin. Then pull the old chain out drawing the new chain with it. Put your new master link in with the clip in the correct position. Pull the wheel back easy and finger tighten the adjusters. Take a piece of string or 2 sticks and measure from the grease zerts on the pivot bolt to the center of the axle you want this to be even on both sides. Try to get a flat spot on the adjsuter nut at the top on both sides. Now all you have to do is count flats to adjust the wheel evenly. When you get the chain to the desired tension tighten the brake adjuster nut and hold the brake down while tightening the axle. Tighten hub stay, chain adjster lock, replace cotter pin, final brake pedal adjustment and anything else I forgot.

If your chain has a riveted master link, you can use an angle grinder to smooth the peened pins and remove the sideplate easily.