Welding questions

TXbobber

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'm new to welding and I don't know where to start. I've messed around a little here and there, but I'm still new to it.

I'm interested in getting a machine that isn't too very expensive ($500 or less) possibly something I could find on craigslist. I want something that could make strong welds and something that will give me room to improve.

Through my research I've seen that mig welders are the cheapest route but, I'm wondering if I were to get a machine that plugged into the wall would it run up my electric bill?

Don't know about the electric bill, but from what I've read on the topic...stick with the name brands. I'm taking a basic welding class at the tech college and learning a lot. There are several topics on this in the general discussion area if you search.

hi i,d stick with a reasonable brand or ask some well known member which brand they use... mig is the way.. and easier to use... you can hire a 1/2 bottle of gas cheap or go for the full size... . i,m in aust... and i also have a 1&3 ticket .. which is plate and pipe ..as i did alot of labour hire contracting and refinery work.. and use an auto lense in your mask.. makes it alot easier regards oldbiker

Alright. I know MIG welds aren't as strong at TIG welds, but with a lot of practice could they be close? (for possibly welding up a frame)

I'm wanting to weld mostly exhaust and maybe gas tanks (I'll leave the frame work to the pros). Would a MIG welder be suitable for doing this?

Alright. I know MIG welds aren't as strong at TIG welds, but with a lot of practice could they be close? (for possibly welding up a frame)

I'm wanting to weld mostly exhaust and maybe gas tanks (I'll leave the frame work to the pros). Would a MIG welder be suitable for doing this?