Whats up with my Carbs?

bryanjnkns

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I'm new to the xs650 and I've read and looked through all the manuals several times over. I have whats titled to be a 76, but I believe its a 77 built in late 76. After looking at several pictures of carbs and comparing them to mine, they looked to be correct for the bike. But after getting into them, I don't really know. I removed the bowls and pilot jet to clean them and noticed the jets were larger than what is listed for a 77, 27.5. At first I just figured the PO swapped them for a larger size.(its got pods and straight pipes) But when I turned over the bowls I noticed an E stamped to the bottom.

ipodPictures005.jpg

I'm wondering if the E stands for the 78 model xs650E? I thought that might make sense considering its has the right pilot jet size for that year. Haven't been able to remove the main jet yet.

Upon futher inspection of the carbs I found other things that didn't quite add up.

ipodPictures009.jpg

The spings in the slides are two different sizes. :wtf:

ipodPictures013.jpg
ipodPictures012.jpg

One slide has a prong, the other doesn't(sorry for the terminology, didn't know what to call it) If you look closely you'll notice other differences too.

ipodPictures015.jpg

The slides also differe in color. I thought it might be varnish, but it isn't. I'm wondering if the PO swapped a slide and diaphram from another year or replaced it with a new one. But I don't know. Anyones help would be much appreciated.

The slide with the higher needle and snap ring is from a 78-79 which is jetted stock with a 27.5 pj.