White Smoke While Trying to Crank Engine

YL82

Perpetual Restorationist
Reaction score
My ride is a 1976 Yamaha XS650C.

I recently installed a Pamco, a new advance unit, new advance rod, new Iridium spark plugs and spark plug wires and the high output coil. I'm no mechanic, but I did the install myself in a methodical manner.

The bike started up just fine :D, but I had to abort setting the timing since my fuel petcocks were leaking terribly. I then removed the fuel tank, removed the non-vacuum petcocks and rebuilt them. I then added Visu-Filter Slimline fuel filters (with sintered bronze elements) and did some other unrelated work.

After I reinstalled the tank, I hooked the fuel petcocks back up and refilled the gas tank with about 3 gallons of gas.

I decided to charge the battery since a few weeks had gone by since I had installed the Pamco.

I have a Battery Minder (Model 12117). See attached image.

I recharged the battery overnight.

One thing that I did do was to turn on the switch to ensure that I was in neutral. I left the switch on for a minute or two (while the battery charger was doing its thing with the battery still installed and wired up in the bike).

Starting: Starting was difficult and I had to push Start button numerous times. I noticed a little white smoke coming from under the fuel tank on the right side. I removed the fuel tank and checked out everything. Didn't see anything amiss.

I then tried again to restart the bike and got it started and let it run while adjusting the idle and allow the engine to warm up. At this point, I revved up the engine some to keep it going and noticed a clanking noise - which I think was mis-timing.

I then turned off the engine, then tried to restart the engine and a profuse amount of white smoke came out from right side below tank.:wtf:

I noticed that the Pamco (cover was removed for setting timing...) was hot and that the advance unit cover was very hot.