Won't run

Downer

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hey guys new here I'm sure you have heard it before bike won't run got spark engine cranks connections are good and grounded battery is charged but engine just won't fire bought it off a friend of a friend that rode it down from oregan to so cal on the way back it just broke down checked the plug wires one was fried replaced them both and caps now got spark to both any other ideas on what I need to do? Thanx in advance

No not yet but would that keep it from starting? I thought that would just make it run crappy I'm not sure I'm new to the mechanics thing he did say that it might be due to over filling the oil

Any other ideas? Thought I had points wires crossed that wasn't it I don't want to use starter fluid but I'm coming to my last resorts every thing seems in order can't figure it out sorry just venting

Shoot some starting fluid in the carbs and try it then. If it still doesn't start or at least pop check compression. If it has compression and is sparking close to time then the fluid should make noise. Of course spark too.

If you have spark and the timing's right, check compression. Leave the tester attached for a few good cranks to get the highest reading, and hold the throttle all the way open. If compression isn't below 110 or so, then it has to be carbs, or fuel flow.

Well I put a little gas in the spark plug holes I figured that would be better than starting fluid I've been reading bad storys about that anyways I put the gas it the holes and cranked it and it just backfired once and that was it tried changing point connections and nothing

If you try and make it run for a long period of time with starter fluid it will eventually melt down. One squirt will not destroy anything. Dropping gas down the spark plug hole with usually only get you one fire. Starting fluid in the carbs will get you two or three fires.

Spark, timing, compression and fuel mixture if you have all of these it will run.

Spark good