XS Adventure

SOSXS

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I'm new to XS650.com and you guys have some really cool stuff here. I've been fooling around with other bikes for awhile, but alway wanted an XS. I've been on this project for some time now so here is a bit of history and the mods to date. I hope you like it:bike:

A friend gave me a 1979 XS650 2F a few years ago that was sitting outside. It had no title and hadn't run in many years ... Just the way we like em

My brother and I picked it up and drug it back to my place. Getting old junk bikes is like Christmas morning for me and I can't wait to find and the rodent nests and spider webs packed into it. Under the seat on the XS it has the plastic document holder like a lot of the old bikes. Inside was the title signed off and notarized in the 80's

I ran down to the title bureau this next morning and I was the legal owner of this gem.

XS650_YZ_4-17-12_001-M.jpg

She's a beaut ain't she

The truth is that after I got the title I let it sit in my garage at home for a couple years promising myself I would not touch it until I had an actual plan and time to do it. I've done some other bikes and opened up a new shop for work since then. Also had many ideas for what the the 650 should be in its new life. Initially it was going to be a street tracker, then a bobber, thought about a cafe for awhile too. I really like the street tracker XS650s and that was it until I was searching Craigslist one morning and happened upon this jewel.

XS650%20YZ%20Before%203-M.jpg

A 1987 YZ125 basket case. After seeing a few pictures of a YZ650F that someone made I was hooked. An XS650 adventure bike it was.