XS650 and the Sidecar of Death

JohnGoFast

XS650 Masher
Reaction score
Hi guys, been a lurker for some time, now that I have a couple XS650s I figure I'll be here a bit more and should participate..

Two summers ago I picked up a Dnepr (Soviet Military Bike) with a sidecar. Ended up selling the bike and keeping the sidecar, decided to mount it up to the XS650 ('81 Special) I had kickin' around.

Here's a couple of pictures of the bike and the progress with the rig. Just finished some 2-1 high pipes last night, other than header coating. Waiting for a piece of bent thick wall tubing for a subframe for the rear sidecar lower mount and then I will put the tub on the frame and hit the road to see what I can break.

Anyone with sidecar experience please pitch in and if you see something I should be concerned about or have questions on the work I'm doing. I am a complete novice when it comes to sidecars :doh:

IMG_2291.jpg

IMG_2292.jpg

IMG_20121102_155720.jpg

IMG_0357_zps0c8da2bb.jpg

Last edited:
Oooo! Nice. Keep the pics coming.

Alos, I love the design of your tool rolls. Where were you a month ago when I ordered the POS I have off eBay?

Oooo! Nice. Keep the pics coming.

Alos, I love the design of your tool rolls. Where were you a month ago when I ordered the POS I have off eBay?

Thank you Sir. I do a crap job at advertising the stuff I make, I don't even think my site can be found from Google, I've never seen any trafic come from a search engine. I see you found me on Instagram, that's where I've been showing product and doing most sales/trade. Kinda just a hobby for me.

LOVE that exhaust!

If you get time, can you list sources/part numbers/prices? I can definitely see that exhaust on my bike.

Thanks, the exhaust was a bit of a rush job as I wanted to keep the exhaust on the left side (away from the passenger) and couldn't find anything available like that. Gordon Scott makes some great ones, but isn't taking orders right now..