XS650 Bobber project questions for newbie

Biker

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi, I saw an XS650 for sale on craigslist for ~400. I love the looks of bobbers however cannot afford one so I decided I would attempt to build one. My questions are:

How hard is it for someone who is new to fabrication to do a hardtail job (I would have a shop weld it)?

Do I need wayy too many tools to do this? I am an experienced wood worker but do not have any fabrication knowledge/tools. What will I need?

What all comes with the hardtail job? As far as other functions on the bike. Obviously I can't just weld a hardtail on and reassemble?

As you can tell I am a newbie but I really want to get into a hobby that doesn't involve doing drugs and I love working on cars, etc. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Where or what is GR? Your best bet is to get the bike running EXCELLENT first. While doing that (in the process learning a LOT about motorcycles and how they work) you can start forming ideas about what changes might and might NOT be a good idea. Half ass hard tails are a dime a dozen in most places you just need to find them. Unless you live where the roads are billiard table smooth a hardtail is a damned rotten thing to do to a perfectly useable motorcycle.

Im in Michigan. The roads here aren't ideal but I don't plan on riding a ton, maybe just to work and occasionally go out for a joy ride. I am doing this for more of a hobby than anything. I read the threads about buying a bike, etc. Which were very helpful. Just curious on the extent of the fabrication and if its worth getting into it without the tools as i'd have to pay a shop for all the welding needs.