XS650 Street Tracker Build

PoltART

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, as of recently I have been getting more and more into the old school bikes. I have been riding motorcycles for a few years now and have a few different bikes for different styles of riding; I also have a few project bikes including a 900RR fighter project, but since that one is a much slower longer paced project I thought of picking up one of these bikes as well.

Yesterday I picked up a 1981 XS650 Special 2.

I don't have a complete plan for the bike now. But I am thinking it through.

Here it is currently:

xs650.jpg

good lookin' bike. looks like somebody took care of it.

i too came from more modern bikes when i jumped into the xs world. couple pieces of wisdom i would like to share from my experience...

1. old bikes need love and attention. routine maintenance is far more critical and with these bikes there certainly is more to maintain.

2. rubber parts. good chance brake lines and a few other seals will need to be replaced. inspect what you expect. especially when it can save your life.

3. mikesxs might seem like shangri-la for spare parts to the uninformed. always, always, always try to source oem or at least research a specific mikesxs part before giving them your hard earned $$.

there are certainly many other differences you will find owning a 30+ year old bike compared to the modern counterpart. others may chime in. research and read everything on this website. you will have a much more enjoyable experience in owning one of these fine machines.

good luck!

Bikes looks good. That seat looks to be of an 80SG, (one year/model only), and the beat of the clip on seats because the rise is gentile and makes for a more comfortable ride. Cam move the arse around and back.

+1 on what deadchef says