What do I actually need? Electrical wise, tracker build

JNizza92

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have a 1975 XS650 that I am turning into a street tracker type bike and I am getting to the electrical part of the project... I am a mechanical engineer by profession but my electrical knowledge is "lacking" haha. I am wondering what I actually need on the bike, I want it to be as bare bones as possible, but I still want to have a battery. I have already removed the electric starter so it is kick only at this point.

As far as lighting goes...

I have a headlight (I think it has a high beam), taillight and brake light, I do not need to have turn signals, but those are something I can always work in later.

I did build a harness for my 2008 WR250F that had all of the lighting stuff but as far as the electrical that the engine needs to run, I know nothing about.

I plan on using hydraulically activated bajo bolts for my brake light switches. I want this to be as simple as possible from a controls standpoint: When the bike is on I want the headlight and taillight on, I want a separate switch for my high beam (I can mount it onto of the headlight housing) and then my brake light switches at the master cylinders.

As far as the engine electrical goes, I am using a pamco pete electronic ignition (rephased) and the green coils.

I have the 3 wires per side that come off of the electric ignition unit and I know that 2 go to each coil and the 3rd one gets grounded. I know I need some sort of regulator or rectifier or something, and this is where my knowledge drops....

What do I need to make this bike run? If so, what do I need and how do I hook it all up. I want it to be as simple as possible with the least amount of wires, but I also want to understand WHY it is wired the way it is.

any help is appreciated, thanks
Jordan

The bare minimum you need to make the bike run is:

- Alternator