30amp switch instead of keys?

madeindetroit

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I would like to use switches instead of keys.

I am currently running a relay and not too excited about it when a failure is to occur in my electrical.

I would like one switch for my coil (kill switch) is a 20 amp enough?

Then I want one near the battery, do I need a 30 amp? I cant seem to find any good 30 amp switches. That A look good, B are sealed, and C are not larger then my engine.

I am not an electrical engineer, but I have a fair amount of experience using various toggle, micro, and other switches on both Sportsters and XS650s. I have used micro-switches rated as small as 5 amps for both kill switches and start buttons with no problems, but I don't really recommend going that low, and I think 10 amp rated switches are a lot safer.

Anyways, Radio Shack makes a fantastic full-size toggle switch (actually a paddle switch):
http://octopart.com/275-024-radioshack-24527443
My package lists it as 275-0024. What's fantastic is that it is rated for DC instead of AC, and it is rated 30 amps which is huge. Has built-in red LED which is goofy, but otherwise makes a great ignition switch if you are going key-less, or as a secondary, secret, hidden kill switch (nice to have a secret switch if you go key-less like I do). I don't know if it's exactly "sealed," but it looks rain-proof.
Radio shack has some other interesting DC rated switches in their electronics parts drawers.

Radio Shack also sells a fantastic two-position off/on micro-toggle, part # 275-0324
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062485
It is rated at 10 amps/125VAC, which is really high for a micro switch. Highest rated I have found by far.

I have put both of the above switches on a few bikes now, with no problems.

EDIT: I fixed the second link...

Last edited: