Aviation Oil

Mellowyellow

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Just wondering if anyone has ever considered using any type of Aviation oils for the 650? and if so what would one recommend?

I wouldn't even if cost was no object (it is) Aviation engines are so different in design and operating conditions than motorcycles that the oil is just plain not right for a motorcycle.

I was just wondering, ive heard of areoshell 20w50 being used on old harley twins but have never seen any evidence its good or bad. As far as cost I use the stuff everyday (im a pilot) so easy to find.

- interesting question as both motors are air cooled...seems as if this is a contentious issue...read a harley thread that was rather passionate but only interesting for the flaming it generated...seems one of the biggest differences between these motors is the fuel, av gas is highly leaded, about 4x more than the old pump gas, and this causes a lot of ash depositing in an aviation motor

- i was aware that its not recommended to use automotive oils in aircraft due to the differences between detergent and AD ashless-dispersal additives

- also interesting was that Straight Grade Engine Oils...'straight mineral oils blended from selected high viscosity index base oils, not containing any additives except for very small amounts of pour point depressant (improving fluidity at very low temperatures) and an anti-oxidant...should also be used during the break-in of a new aviation piston engine or those recently overhauled'

- here