Bell helmet save my life

Sonnylynnvick75

XS650 Young Gun
Reaction score
New to this 650 deal but I have been racing motocross for 11 years now. About 7 weeks ago now this past saturday, I was getting in some practice in Alabama for a race. I was wearing a Bell moto 6r. A freind of mine wrecked and without thinking I threw my bike down and ran over to check on him. This rather "redneck" man picked my bike up and cut the gas off because it was coming out the overflow. After my friend got up and felt better, I hopped on my bike cranked it up and took off. Lined up for a 60 foot long triple, my engine ran out of gas on take off. This threw me off the bike in midair about 15 foot and landed me on my face. I broke my collarbone, fractured the base of my skull, fractured my left eye socket, crushed my septum, and left me with a grade 4 concussion. Doctors said if I had been wearing any less of a helmet I probably wouldnt be hear anymore. I'm now a believer in Bell and you couldnt pay me to wear anything else.

I have done a digger with a Bell and an HJC. Both done what they were supposed to. My friggin FACE finds the turf when I do an unscheduled dismount (every damn time!) so I'm big on the full face protection. I already have "rugged good looks", so I don't need to use my mug for an asphalt plow.
That's a tuff friggin hit. Glad to hear you're OK.
I get tired of hearing that same old bullshit story about "the doctor said, if I was wearing a helmet, it would have broke my neck" BULLSHIT.
Lids save lives. What is yours worth?