Billet top triple clamp,

durgam_K

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hey guys. Im a CNC machinist at a shop here near Lansing Mi. Ive been doing it for about 15 years now. I have made everything from rear sets to forward controls, and most in between, for a few custom bikes.

I want to make a new Billet triple clamp for XS650's. I want to get some preliminary feedback before i go further, as there are some questions i have as far as people's wants. I want to make these to appeal to the masses, and eventually, sell.

Here's a couple things that i believe will be a majority deceision rather easily.
1. 35mm forks
2. maintain rubber dampening holes for bar mounts

Next, the top clamp has about a 1 inch drop from the top of the tree, to the top of the fork clamp area. If I copy this idea, it will increase cost to machine,(take longer), and will increase material cost. (thicker ) However, this will maintain stock handling characteristics.

If I make the clamp without that vertical offset, (flat) the material will be thinner, and faster to machine. ie...Cheaper.:thumbsup: But when doing this, the forks will have to be slid up in the lower, to match the top clamp. This will decrease the rake angle, shorten the trail, and lower ground clearance a little, but, Give the bike a sharper turn in.
In the next day or so, i will draw up the rake and trail differences to get real world numbers. Nothing wil be drastic. Its the same scenario as putting a 3/4 inch longer shock on the rear. (ground clearance issue of course ) And the handling greatly improved!!

Another idea is, on my personal bike build in progress, I am running a MikesXS Tach, and speedo. I am incorporating a "dash" if you will, into the top clamp. This can be an option later on for guys with full on custom builds. PLease, Give any and all feedback you feel necessary.
Thanks, Kris