Diode check on PMA regulator rectifier High Voltage

bpupeza

I like motorcycles
Reaction score
I am getting up to 18 volts at the battery when I rev the engine. I have the xscharge PMA along with the regulator rectifier made specifically for it. I disconnected the R/R and did a diode check. I have never done this before. When I put the positive lead from the meter to the positive wire on the R/R I get a reading of 1. Negative to negative gives me the same result. When I put the positive lead from the meter to negative on the R/R I get readings to all of the yellow wires around 500! I get the same results with the negative lead of the meter to the positive wire on the R/R.
I was under the understanding that the reading should be closer to .500 not 500.
Has anybody else ever done a diode check on their xscharge regulator rectifier? What were your readings.
Thanks for any input.

I don't think the rectifier part of your reg/rec is the problem. Usually if a diode goes bad the out put voltage drops. This happens because it affectively removes one leg of the stator output from the circuit.
A high voltage is a reg issue.
On just a rectifier as the stock system uses. If you hook the red lead of your meter to the positive wire on the rec, touch the black lead to the yellow wire you will get one reading. Either a high reading or a near zero reading.
Reverse the meter leads and you should get an opposite reading. One way a high reading the other low.
Now hook the red lead to the negative wire on the rec, touch the black lead to the yellow wires. Reverse the leads.
This will give you another sets of readings. One high, one low. These reading should be opposite from the first set. If so the diodes are good.
Doing this test on the stock reg/rec works because you are testing just the diodes, the reg part is separate.
Now on a PMA reg/rec with the reg in there somewhere I'm not sure how that will effect your readings.