duel output coil help

spanks

XS650 Member
Reaction score
so ive been wanting to upgrade my ignition and i read up some on the duel output coils. i have a 79 what all would i need to do to put one in/wire it up? im not very good with ignition systems so a wireing diagram to wire it up would be good to also what coil should i buy

:agree:dual output coil with dual points worked out pretty good. thanks for the tip retiredgentleman. i will say this though - timing that setup is kind a of a pain, i just went ahead and ditched the dual points and bought a single points dual lobed cam.

Dual points are not really that difficult. They do have to be set in order, the same way, every time. The up side is; the timing for each cylinder can be set dead on. The dual lobe ignition cam is a after-market part not manufactured to Yamaha's quality. That said, the tolerance of the dual cam causes a slight difference in timing between the two cylinders. This jitter has to be divided between the two.

originally thats why i went with the dual points - to set each cylinder's timing individually. what i found was that only one point was actually governing the timing for both cylinders, the other point was always firing around TDC. maybe i didn't play with it enough to get the hang of it but i had the dual lobed cam anyways, so why not make my life a little easier. working great so far.

If that's the result you were getting, then you where doing it wrong. The factory manual has a detailed description of how the points are to be set. In general it works like this. One set of points is mounted on the base plate. They are adjusted first and NOT moved again. The second set of points is mounted on top of the base plate. They are adjusted last. This adjustment should not in any way move the base plate below.