Engine rebuild advice please?

halliday77

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I've decided to rebuild my '81 engine in the near future.
I've never done such a thing before, and I'm an amateur mechanic at best, but I'm capable, I'll be working with a similarly capable mate, and we're already knee-deep in pre-work research so I think we'll be just fine.

I just have a few questions I'd love some guidance on so we can plan the HELL out of this thing before we get started.

Firstly - the bike is in fantastic working order, runs smoothly, runs well. My only complaint is that the exhaust smells a bit oily, but based on inspections I am guessing this is most likely a build-up of crap in the engine caused by it being 30+ years old, and having a history of a recurrently fouling right plug and non-firing cylinder caused by a bad idle screw.

I'm planning on basing the job on the guide found at Mike's (http://www.mikesxs.net/xs650engine/Part1.html) and we'll be spending a good while watching videos, reading guides and manuals and planning the job as best we can (until we crack it open and realise everything's stuffed).

My first question: assuming I have all the parts I will need to replace on hand, and not including things I will need to send away to have blasted/ground, would anyone care to estimate how long it will take to strip, clean and rebuild? Everything that doesn't involve professional machining - I will do myself.

Once the engine's dismantled, I'm sending off the crank to Hugh's for a rephased one and a PMA kit, swapping the ignition, taking out the battery, and getting new carbs and manifolds.

My second question is - assuming all engine parts are in perfect order and simply need machining/blasting - exactly what will i need to replace in the way of seals and gaskets?

Lastly - could someone list any specialty tools I might need (things like alternator rotor pullers) and recommend compounds for cleaning the internal and external parts?