First Yamaha XS650

Guyver

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I've been riding for just under 40 years now and a couple of days ago I purchased my first XS650; which is a 1972 XS-2. I fell in love with the bike as soon as I saw it. It's relatively slow compared to other bikes I've had, it's heavy with sluggish handling, leaks gas because I need to rebuild the carbs, it's loud and it vibrates more and more the faster you go...in short, it's everything it should be.

I fixed the wiring issues and got the turn signals working and made a quick release for the seat. The bike had a one year-old paint job and came with new tires, a new battery, new coil over rear shocks, new chain, a new LED headlight with integrated turn signals and a new LED taillight. I'm replacing the turn signals, adding bar end mirrors, new headlight brackets and a leather bag for the forks.

I'm amazed that it has an electric start, the bike fires right up (cold and sitting overnight or not) and has a nice lazy idle. It kickstarts with ease and runs extremely well. I paid $2,300 for it and the seller threw in the matching helmet and a nice pair of gloves.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20200315-055308~2.png
    Screenshot_20200315-055308~2.png
    1 MB · Views: 248
  • IMG_20200315_174619.jpg
    IMG_20200315_174619.jpg
    268.5 KB · Views: 241
Very nice - looks like you've got yourself a ballgame there Guyver!

It never ceases to amaze me how many nice XS650s are out there hiding in barns, sheds, people's garages etc. etc.

It never ceases to amaze me how many nice XS650s are out there hiding in barns, sheds, people's garages etc. etc.

I was surprised as could be that it was still available and I really love the paint scheme. I am contemeplating having the fenders painted white to match.

Welcome the group... is that a re-laced 16 inch rear wheel.. ? A swap to a 31 tooth rear sprocket will help with the vib's…. match'n fender paint, with stripes,,,,, would be nice.. they sell a better.. comfortable seat.