General help.

joebgd

XS650 Junkie
Reaction score
I've been jumping in on other threads if I can keep it on topic. I'm going to start my own and add inquiries here.
1st one is, I am ordering a chain and I want to replace my rear wheel bearings and I suppose seals. I see a how to in tech but the pics that identify parts are no longer there. Can someone tell me which 2 bearings and what seals are needed for rear rim? I see mikes has an all balls set but I'm ordering a sprocket and an Izumi chain from xs650direct which has Koyo bearings. What are thoughts on Izumi and koyo?

Looks like 63042 and 63052 for bearings. 0654 0655 for seals that's 2 bearings and 2 seals as per manual.

I've installed many AllBalls kits with no issues, but I'd expect the Koyo bearings would be at least as good. I have no experience with the Izumi chain but it's listed as Japanese so likely good too

1681479453835.png

what I expected about the bearings not about the chain. It Os the 530ht I was going to order. They have o ring 530, 530h, and 530ht. What brand did Yamaha use as stock chain in 1980? The oem chain has such closer tolerance and lasted way longer than my JC whitny hd. I still have the oem for emergency.

I will avoid all balls if I can get another bearing from a known Japanese/German manufacturer.

All balls doesn’t manufacture bearings, they source and market - multiple supplies (uk,Germany,china,India,Japan) means you don’t know what your getting. (But they most like work fine)

Izumi is a big supplier of cam chains in the CB world and Yamiya sells them so that would at least speak to a decent quality. (Yamiya is exactly the opposite of MikesXS but for the Honda world - super high quality parts, oem and in-house reproduction, and excellent customer support).

Last edited:
Thanks for the replies.
Next query, I want an 11 mm bore front MC with mirror mount. I see new ones but I wouldn't be aposed to getting a used one and rebuild if needed.