Intro: First bike- an XS650. need HELP with wiring!

lopejd01

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi, I already posted my bike and some questions but I figured I should have probably started off with an introduction.
24yrs old, been wanting to learn to ride for awhile but I'm also a full time college student and had to find the time. This summer I made a conscious effort to learn and started checking craigslist everyday for bikes. Took months but I found a bike that caught my eye- a 77' xs 650. Paid 1500$ for it, maybe a little much but I felt good about it.

Bike ran great for the first day or two I had it but than all of a sudden it wouldnt idle. My dad got it running long enough to do a couple laps but it sounded weird. we put it away and the next day I tried starting it up again and now it wont even start at all. I have a feeling the problem is in the carbs.

My experience with bikes/engines/things with wheels = none. I take my vehicles in to have the oil changed. Not against learning though. I bought a 4 wheeler this summer and took the carb apart to clean out the jets. Took me hours though to get it running right after I did it.

I'll probably endup taking the bike in to get looked at though. I have just so little experience and no one to help, i'm afraid I'll endup getting it in pieces and cause more of a mess. besides, I bought the bike to learn to ride and I can't do that if it sits in the garage all summer. BUT- if anyone has any advice on how what could have happened, please let me know. If it seems like something I can attempt without screwing it up, I'll go for it. It just went from running great all day to not running in a snap.

The big question I do have, because its not engine related, is the wiring.