Left side of engine heat

supertrooper1983

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Today I took off the leftside cover of my bike to work on the kick start after the spring broke off. Re-installed everything (lost a little oil) and ran the bike for about 10 miles.I experienced some oil spray which seemed to be coming from the top the leftside cover. Also, the leftside cover is red hot. I'm not sure what happened or what I could've done. I am kinda new to all this and learn as I go. I would think that it's a result of oil starvation but I'm just guessing. I checked and it seems like the oil level according to the dipstick is ok. Any ideas as to what's going on and how I need to fix it (in layman's terms)? I had already planned on changing the oil tomorrow regardless.

red hot? as in glowing red? and if you mean right side cover(kickstart side) you have just rode 10 miles without oil, thats why it is so hot. when you removed the right side cover for the kickstart spring, all of your oil should have drained out. if only a little spilled out, then that means you only had a little bit of oil in your engine when the cover was pulled.

It was a fair amount that drained out actually but after looking at it the whole engine is hot, not glowing but hot. Seems that there was no oil but the levels are still ok according to the dip stick...still pretty lost

if it is indeed the right side cover you're referring to then ya, you drained your oil and you probably shouldn't have ran the bike without putting back the 2 quarts these engines take. the oil spray might have been from where your tachometer cable feeds into the cover... i started my bike once with the tach cable out and experienced a little bit of spray

maybe you have the wrong dipstick? either way, if you removed the cover on the kickstart side, you lost all of your oil, and then you put 10 miles on a dry engine, that is why it is so hot.