More electrical research!

motorbreath

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
simplifiedwiring.jpg
IMG_20140811_182628_481.jpg

Couldn't figure how to use video but heres one of it running

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...703026&type=2&theater&notif_t=video_processed

Im running hughs PMA, standard pamco ignition, and TC bros capacitor. 1981 xs650

This is the diagram i used but the other black blobs are inline fuses i added, any way here are my readings i have.

From the red wire on the regulator i got 14.82-14.89V

Regulator to Capacitor i have 14.33-14.78V

Capacitor to B position on Key switch i have roughly 14.83V

L position on key switch to my kill switch i have 14.55V

Now from the other on side of the kill switch to coil i have an obscure number collection ranging from anywhere such as 3V-12V

Thanks

View attachment 46189
View attachment 46190

Couldn't figure how to use video but heres one of it running

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...703026&type=2&theater&notif_t=video_processed

Im running hughs PMA, standard pamco ignition, and TC bros capacitor. 1981 xs650

This is the diagram i used but the other black blobs are inline fuses i added, any way here are my readings i have.

From the red wire on the regulator i got 14.82-14.89V

Regulator to Capacitor i have 14.33-14.78V

Capacitor to B position on Key switch i have roughly 14.83V

L position on key switch to my kill switch i have 14.55V

Now from the other on side of the kill switch to coil i have an obscure number collection ranging from anywhere such as 3V-12V

Thanks

That would indicate the Kill switch has a high resistance. It's liked corroded up with nasty green stuff. They can be taken apart and the copper contacts cleaned up.

does it make a difference if its a new kill switch i just bought?

Hi mb,
it just might. While most aftermarket components are OK, some are just rubbish.
Set your multimeter to Ohms and check the new killswitch resistance.