my first XS650, HELP engine leaking oil

Nickyd

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey so i just picked up a 1981 yamaha xs650, this is my first "fixer uper" bike. I am a beginner and don't have much experience at all with this sorta thing, but im wanted to learn! So i got the bike home an noticed the engine was leaking oil out of where i believe the cylinder head to be? the oil is coming out of the fins.

IMG_8243.jpg

IMG_3327.jpg

IMG_5327.jpg

idk if i uploaded the pic the right way...

There are a couple of known oil leaks common to these.
The head bolts need to be retorqued first to 30 lbs(imo).
As oem you have rubber backed washers on the 4 outside headbolts they lose their torque. Is it compression(tired rubbers) or vibration transfer IDK but it happens.

Next the valve cover o-rings may be flattened you can try turning them over or replace.

The the o-ring on the cam chain adjuster cap can weep. Again turning it over may buy you time.

The clutch pushrod seal and a loose drive chain sprocket are also places oil will leak, later or sooner who knows.

Check out the tech section for reference material.
And welcome to the site!

ok great thank you, ill check that out.
I made a typo in my original post... i said cylinder head.. i meat to say its around the head gasket. im not sure if thats totally right but thats what someone told me. you can see where its leaking in the pics.
Thanks again!

The headgasket often leaks, doing a head retorque with new bronze washers to replace the stock rubber ones as weekender mentioned and torquing the 8 big nuts to 30 ft/lbs or as some to 35 ft/lbs often fixes it.
Remove each nut one at a time. clean the threads on the stud and in the nut. Oil the threads. Replace and torque. Then do the next one. Do them in the order listed in the book.
Leo