new header options?

chunts

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
so I've been restoring an old '81 650 for a couple of months and finally got it started last weekend. I've rebuilt the carbs and added pod filters. re-jetted the pilot and main up one size as a start and it seems to be running pretty rich. idles ok but stumbles all over with any throttle, and starts fine cold with no choke.

I also noticed when you gun it there's significant exhaust leaking from both sides near the manifold, which I figure I should address before trying to tune the carbs anymore. these are the original double-wall headers and it looks like the smoke is probably coming from the vents at the top, which means the inside pipes are probably ruptured somewhere. is it possible it's just the gaskets? any other reason to see exhaust leaks there?

so what are my options? I'm wary of ebay cause they might be just as bad. are the headers from Mike's decent?

it came with what I'm told are Harley mufflers on it, which sound great but they are so bulky they get in the way of the brake pedal and the kick stand. I'd be happy to ditch them, but if I could get them back and out of the way it might be allright and save me some money.

I'm a passable mechanic and welder, but pretty new to bikes and motors in general, for what that's worth.

Welcome to the forum. On the later exhaust the head pipes and the mufflers were welded together. The only way to put other muflers on is to cut the old off.
This leaves a gap between the inner and out headpipes. The Harley mufflers are 1 3/4 inlet, thats the same od as the outer head pipe.
With the Harley mufflers clamped to the outer pipe the exhaust flows back up between the inner and outer pipe, leaking out the vent hole at the top.