new'b on a budget

Reaction score
I've been tinkering with a 78 special for a couple years now (diy drag pipes, Boyer micro power with Profire coil, rejeted cv38's) but could never get it tuned right. I found cam chain guide pieces in the oil so I pulled the engine ( front mount bolt is seized in case so I pulled it with it still on engine ; ( . Tore down top end to replace chain and guide and found scored stock pistons slopping around in the bores. Would love to just get a big bore kit but from what I've read it won't do much without a cam, exhaust, and carbs to go with it and can't afford all that. So now I have a frame with wheels in the driveway and tore apart engine in my apartment wondering what to do with it. Thinking about cheap 76mm pistons from ebay and standard overhaul for the rest. Everything else looked in good shape except 1 of the valve tips (pitting) . Read about the base gasket delete trick but don't really want to buy dial indicator etc... any advise would be greatly appreciated..

- - - ( front mount bolt is seized in case so I pulled it with it still on engine) - - -

Hi Shawn,
fer Chrissake man, that's no way to fix a bike, you gotta get that bolt out of there!
Buy, borrow or rent as powerful a 1/2" impact wrench as you can find, that'll shift it. That, heat & penetrating oil for sure.

There's enough bolt on the other side to lock 2 nuts on. I'll try that with heat and impact if I can borrow 1. Should I heat the bolt or the case?

I tried PB Blaster over night and my and a breaker bar and twisted the head off. Don't know how to get it out now?

Hi shawn,
if the bolt head is twisted off the busted bolt you can try driving out.
You will need a maybe 12" length of 3/8" diameter steel rod, a BFH and a hot air paint stripping gun.
Heat the casting to expand it off the broken bolt and pound the bejasus out of the bolt's broken off end with the rod and the BFH.