Opening the Gas Cap Without a Key

Take Warning15

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
How can it be done without doing any damage. I tried to pick it, but couldn't. Any tricks? I have searched on the forum but haven't found anything that has worked yet. I know I can replace the key, but I want to ride tomorrow and it needs gas!

You need to define witch gas cap you have for a starters, there were 4 different types thorough the life of the XS650.

This has been discussed heaps of times.

I typed:" How to open a gas cap without a key" into google search and this came up

Think you will find the 75 gas cap, (same as the 73-75), cant be picked, as in forcing the latch as later models can be. There should be numbers on the face, (where the key goes in), and they can be used to get another key cut.

For starters, I'm a locksmith. Anything that uses a key to open it can be picked. Your gas cap might have an aggressive biting that is making it difficult for an amateur to pick. Take it to a locksmith to open it for you and have a new key created. If it does have numbers on the lock cylinder face, we can use those numbers to generate a key for you. Tell me the numbers and I'll run it through the software for you and PM you your key code.

Last edited:
Think you will find the 75 gas cap, (same as the 73-75), cant be picked, as in forcing the latch as later models can be. There should be numbers on the face, (where the key goes in), and they can be used to get another key cut.

For starters, I'm a locksmith. Anything that uses a key to open it can be picked. Your gas cap might have an aggressive biting that is making it difficult for an amateur to pick. Take it to a locksmith to open it for you and have a new key created. If it does have numbers on the lock cylinder need face, we can use those numbers to generate a key for you. Tell me the numbers and I'll run it through the software for you and PM you your key code.