slight metal on metal noise after replacing the clutch cover

Moisstink

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello, just wanted to say yes I am new to working on motorcycles and appreciate any and all info available. I have been working on the 1975 xs650 bored out to a 750. Here is my deal. I took off the clutch cover that was already on the bike. Once it was off I checked the gasket and internals and all looked good. I aligned the cover and re-bolted it down. I added a oil cooler to the side and did an oil change. The levels are good. What I am wondering is if I may have done something wrong in something so simple. Everything seemed to line up and I did not adjust the one knob that runs to the outside of the cover (I'm not sure what that is called or purpose - I am definitely a newb by trying). I started the bike and had a back fire that shot a little flame (I do not think that is part of the problem but something I will need to watch) but now I am noticing a slight grinding sound very light. I am imagining the clutch housing rubbing the inside of the cover for some reason. I have not even ridden the bike since. Thanks again for any and all info. The photo is just where the bike is at now. Oh yeah, the seat in the photo is photoshopped just an idea. I am not against cracking her back open but not sure where to look for metal shavings other than the oil filter.

Just ordered Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance - Hopefully I can start kicking some knowledge on here pretty soon.

Attachments

• new tank number.jpg
    new tank number.jpg
    164.7 KB · Views: 264
Last edited:
Hey, Moisstink. Let's take a step back and get oriented.

Folks here call the:

- Right engine cover, which also has the oil pump, as "clutch cover".
- Left engine cover, which also has the clutch screw-type actuator, as "alternator cover".

Okay, which cover did you remove?
And, under which cover are you hearing the sound?