starter solenoid or momentary switch

nb1914

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
hello all,

my first post but I'm sure not my last by a long way . ok so i have just purchased a custom bobber xs650 1980. the previous owner has annihilated the electrics, no key just a on/off switch on the right hand grip. starter motor disconnected. so firstly i will install a battery isolated as when the battery is connected it drains. i also want to wire backup the starter motor, i removed the starter and tested and its good. now I'm not sure what current the starter may pull i,e if a solenoid is really needed or whether a 25amp rated momentary switch would be ok ??

any comments welcome

The starter draws 35 amps with no load, under load it draws 100 amps.
You need a relay that can handle that much current.
Leo

Just about any motor cycle solenoid will do it, after all it is just a magnet operated switch.

Thanks guys, im no electrician. Does the below circuit diagram look ok. Im not sure what current the ignition wiring may need to cope with so where i have draw the "toggle switch" should this be something like a 40amp relay energised by the toggle switch to pass the circuit onward.

Ah

Attachments

• Drawing1.jpg
    Drawing1.jpg
    26.2 KB · Views: 681
Im not sure you should have a fuse between the battery and solenoid. I think you should have a big wire attached to the battery + and solenoid and another big wire attached to the out put of solenoid and starter motor. I printed off a diagram that is found on this site under wiring diagrams, studied that and works fine. I made a couple deviations from it for my needs. There is no fuse between battery and solenoid and its hot all the time. I came off that hot lug of the solenoid and with a fuse and wired my on off switch which then goes to my fuse panel.

Thanks Cruzin