Two Four Build

Bezz

XS650 Greenhorn
Reaction score
First off just want to introduce myself. I go by Bezz and I am a 30 year old mechanical engineer with a motor problem. I love everything motorized and have been wrenching and modifying my own junk since I brought a 77 F100 home when I was 12.

I have never done a build thread before but decided with this project to document my efforts to hopefully gain some input from the community, provide a place for others to learn (from successes and failures) and keep me motivated.

The build is called the Two Four build because that's what I paid for the bike, 24 cold beers. It is a 1979 xs650 and other than good compression on the motor, has nothing going for it.

Here is what I started with:

full

Started by completely tearing it down:

full

full

full

Had to make room in the garage to store the last bike I built. Bought it as a write off and completely rebuilt it from the bottom up, minus the engine:

full

The bottom fairing are removed for an oil change in this picture.

The blue you see in the lower right is my 1970 Nova that I am currently building as well.

My first post was work that took place all in October while I got prepared for the snow to fly in Calgary,AB.

We have a wonderful thing in Calgary called a Chinook.A chinook wind comes in off the rocky mountains just to our west and bathes us in 5-15 *C weather for a few days. Nice break from the -35 *C it is on a day like today.

The last chinook I got my grinder out and started to remove things like the centre stand, kick stand, unecessary tabs etc. I also took of the rear hoop since I ordered the Monstercraftsman brat kit!

full

As you can see I left some tube there to make sure I wasn't taking too much off to start with. I was still a week or so away from getting my parts in.

I had my good buddy come by and help run a 220v circuit out to the garage for my welder. I picked up a Lincoln 180HD mig with C25 gas and put it on a nice little stand:

full