Different length Exhausts

muks

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Just after a bit of feedback. I broke the cardinal rule of exhaust building this weekend, I made different length exhausts. They are quite a bit different in length as the pics will show. I just wanted to know will I have trouble tuning this thing or will I be okay. I don't mind sacrificing a little performance for looks as long as I'm not battling to get it to run right, otherwise I'll have to rethink my strategy. Excuse the pics, I'm no Gordon Scott, and this is my first attempt having a go at making exhausts!

Any feedback welcome, what do you think of the exhausts? and the bike? This is my first go at building a bike, more of a car guy. I'm about to rebuild the engine and was thinking of just doing the top end, I don't know the history of the engine (never heard or seen it run) I should probably inspect the bottom end while I'm at it, I guess thats common sense but I'm reluctant as its all a little unknown to me. This site is amazing though and has been a wealth of knowledge, its certainly made it a lot easier.

Thanks Everyone :thumbsup:

Z85oVRi.jpg

UYoz8Dz.jpg

q2VTuDX.jpg

Last edited:
Me thinks the exhaust is O.K. Might rework that headlight and mount though.Kinda sitting out there in no mans land. Is that a one off hardtail. Otherwise bike looks good.

Yup one off hardtail. Yeah the headlight is a little out there, excuse the pun, and not for everyone but I like it. Thanks for the feedback!

Pipe craftsmanship looks good. What diameter are they? They don't look like the left would be a great deal more restrictive, but the short length of the right might invite reversion.

Hi muks,
the XS650 engine was designed to run with back pressure and your open drains ain't got none so it'll be a bitch to tune right anyway.
What I'd try is to cuff a straight extension onto the short pipe so they're both the same length and see if it makes any difference.